The Witch of Willow Hall by Hester Fox - Book Review

screen-shot-2018-05-07-at-1-02-12-pm.png

I loved this story! Filled with descriptive scenery and an in-depth characterization rising them from the page that makes the story engulf you.Fleeing from their posh Boston lifestyle to New Oldberry, distancing themselves from gossip and further shame, three daughters, Lydia, Catherine and Emeline navigate their new home and town with understandable caution. Their new home has a dark past and heightened energy that awakens powers that could destroy the family. Rich with witchy vibes this book is more than intriguing and fulfilled all of my expectations!


About the Book

37007910The Witch of Willow Hall

An astonishing debut from an exciting new voice in historical fiction, The Witch of Willow Hall (on-sale October 3, 2018, Graydon House Books) delivers memorable and atmospheric witchcraft themes, resulting in an addictive story about strange powers, fierce love, family secrets, and how the past haunts us in ways that demand to be seen.

Perfect for fans of Alice Hoffman (The Rules of Magic), Susanna Clarke (Jonathan Strange & Mr. Norell) and Deborah Harkness (A Discovery of Witches), readers will devour this immersive historical novel and root for a heroine who must struggle to come to terms with her place in the world, and the surprising doors a newfound power can open.

Inspired by true historical facts & places (page 3) in the New England area, when not writing, debut author Fox works in the museum field as a collections maintenance technician.

***

Two centuries after the Salem witch trials, there’s still one witch left in Massachusetts. But she doesn’t even know it.

Take this as a warning: if you are not able or willing to control yourself, it will not only be you who suffers the consequences but those around you, as well.

New Oldbury, 1821

In the wake of a scandal, the Montrose family and their three daughters—Catherine, Lydia and Emeline—flee Boston for their new country home, Willow Hall.

The estate seems sleepy and idyllic. But a subtle menace creeps into the atmosphere, remnants of a dark history that call to Lydia, and to the youngest, Emeline.

All three daughters will be irrevocably changed by what follows, but none more than Lydia, who must draw on a power she never knew she possessed if she wants to protect those she loves. For Willow Hall’s secrets will rise, in the end…